Caleb Ewan wins on the Champs-Elysées, as Egan Bernal wins the Tour de France

July 28, 2019

Caleb Ewan won the final stage of the 2019 Tour de France on Sunday, as Egan Bernal sealed his overall victory, becoming the first-ever Colombian to win the Tour and – at just 22 – the youngest since World War II.

Ewan entered the final bend on the Champs Elysées in about 10th position, the last faint glimmers of the setting sun shining the eyes of the bunch. Edvald Boasson Hagen was the first to take up his sprint, setting out with still about 200 meters to go. He was followed by a couple of other riders, but they too found their energy begin to ebb before the finish line. Sitting just behind were Ewan and Dylan Groenewegen, who mounted a bull’s-horns offensive, slipping up either side of the fading trio and dashing for the line. Ewan won by less than a bike’s length, giving him three victories in this year’s Tour.

Bernal, meanwhile, started his day with the customary champagne and photo opps, clinking (and downing) a glass with his sports directors and lining up across the road with the other members of his Ineos team, which has now won seven of the last eight Tours. Their reign is still far from finished. Not only does Ineos still have both four-time winner Chris Froome and 2018 Tour winner Geraint Thomas (who ended up second overall in this year’s edition), but they’ve signed Bernal to a multi-year contract. They also recently acquired Richard Carapaz, who won the Giro d’Italia in May!

As for the other competitions at this year’s Tour, Frenchman Romain Bardet salvaged his nation’s pride by winning the polka dot jersey as King of the Mountains. And Peter Sagan (who finished 10th on the stage) won his record-breaking seventh green jersey in the points classification. Julian Alaphilippe, who spent 15 days in the yellow jersey of race leader, was given the “super combativity” prize for the way he animated a race that will go down as one of the greatest Tours de France in recent memory.

Stage Results

Place Rider Time
1 Caleb Ewan 03:04:08
2 Dylan Groenewegen +00:00:00
3 Niccolo Bonifazio +00:00:00
4 Maximiliano Ariel Richeze Araquistain +00:00:00
5 Edvald Boasson Hagen +00:00:00
6 André Greipel +00:00:00
7 Matteo Trentin +00:00:00
8 Jasper Stuyven +00:00:00
9 Nikias Arndt +00:00:00
10 Peter Sagan +00:00:00


Place Rider Time
1 Egan Arley Bernal Gomez 82:57:00
2 Geraint Thomas +00:01:11
3 Steven Kruijswijk +00:01:31
4 Emanuel Buchmann +00:01:56
5 Julian Alaphilippe +00:04:05
6 Mikel Landa Meana +00:04:23
7 Rigoberto Uran Uran +00:05:15
8 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas +00:05:30
9 Alejandro Valverde +00:06:12
10 Warren Barguil +00:07:32